Web Content Display Web Content Display

Meet our experts: Sabine Rittmeyer // Cash-in-Transit (CIT)

Interview // 05.02.2021

In our series "Meet our experts" we regularly introduce our experts from all areas of the Delvag Group. This time: Sabine Rittmeyer, underwriter transport insurance in the divison of Cash-in-Transit (CIT). In this interview, she talks about coverage and loss prevention for cash-in-transit, foaming of perpetrators and twisted ankles.

Ms. Rittmeyer, time and again, robberies of cash-in-transit vehicles make the headlines. Recently again in Berlin or even more spectacularly at the beginning of 2020 with burning barricades in Italy. Are such cases insurable at all?
Yes, that's true. Our current experience is that attacks on cash-in-transit vehicles are taking on ever new dimensions and are becoming increasingly brutal. Some of the cases resemble scenes from a Hollywood movie. Of course, cash-in-transit services are insurable and will remain so. From the insurer's point of view, it is of course interesting that no damage occurs in the first place. The transports, and thus also the personnel and the goods, must be so well protected that they are of no interest to the perpetrators. That's why, when it comes to loss prevention and further development, we focus primarily on the appropriate security technology.

What risks do security companies and insurers face?
Of course, robbery is still a major risk. These often take place armed, but not always. In this context, the risk of hostage-taking also plays a role. Here, just as with the use of firearms, it is primarily psychological stress to which drivers are exposed. Beyond this, however, there are a variety of issues that go beyond these "classic" risks. The issues of stress and driver fatigue are increasingly playing a role, and traffic accidents or injuries caused by incorrect lifting or a twisted ankle are also more common than one might think. This is because coinage in particular is heavy and demands a lot from security personnel physically.

Keyword loss prevention. The perpetrators' actions often seem unpredictable and there is quite a range from the use of firearms to a twisted ankle. What are the options for loss prevention?
It will never be possible to completely prevent robberies. Because the money is there and naturally arouses desires. The main thing is to buy time in the event of a robbery and make things difficult for the perpetrators. A major sticking point, for example, is transporting the money from the store to the van. There have been an increasing number of robberies with pepper spray here recently. As a consequence, staff are now equipped with special visors, among other things, to help you fend off the attack.

In essence, it's simply a matter of staying on the move and proactively evolving together. Because the perpetrators are also continuing to arm themselves. This is where we rely on close interaction between us as insurers, special assessors and our customers. Every attempted robbery is evaluated and analyzed on site. From undercover observations in everyday life, on the basis of which personnel are later trained, to money suitcases with GPS or coloring systems, to special materials for the vans, everything is being further developed.

In contrast to other countries, however, offender protection also plays a major role in Germany. Some customers in Europe are already using special foam systems that, in the event of a robbery, foam the entire interior and thus also the perpetrators knee-high with foam that hardens at lightning speed. In Germany, this is not yet possible. However, a lot of movement is expected in this area.

How do you currently assess the market in the CIT sector?
We are currently seeing a lot of movement in the market as well. Some insurers are getting out of the cash-in-transit business because they no longer feel confident about the risk. As a result, we have recently gained some new customers. Basically, we are well established in this niche with more than 20 years of experience and maintain long-standing personal contacts. Most of our customers have been with us for over 15 years and we value the regular exchange and joint development on both sides.

Thank you very much for the interview.

 

About Sabine Rittmeyer
Sabine Rittmeyer has been with Delvag for almost 20 years. As an underwriter and advisor for cash and valuables transport in the area of transport insurance, she is currently responsible, among other things, for the area of jewellers' block with a focus on Hong Kong, as well as cash and valuables transport for Germany and Italy in particular, and to some extent also worldwide. Despite her enthusiasm for running, Sabine has less to do with twisted ankles. She runs her laps there with surefootedness and is also involved in the running section of the Lufthansa Sport Verein. During her free time, she also enjoys diving and the underwater world.

 

Interview: Philipp Schmid
Corporate Communications Delvag
kommunikation@delvag.de

Webcontent-Anzeige Webcontent-Anzeige

Meet our experts: Sabine Rittmeyer // Geld- und Wertransport (GWT)

Interview // 05.02.2021

In unserer Serie „Meet our experts“ stellen wir Ihnen regelmäßig unsere Expert*innen aus allen Bereichen der Delvag Gruppe vor. Dieses Mal: Sabine Rittmeyer, Underwriterin Transportversicherung und Referentin im Bereich Geld- und Werttransport (GWT). Sie spricht im Interview über die Absicherung und Schadenverhütung bei Geld- und Werttransporten, Einschäumen von Tätern und umgeknickte Knöchel.

Frau Rittmeyer, immer wieder machen Überfälle auf Geld- und Werttransporter Schlagzeilen. Jüngst wieder in Berlin oder noch spektakulärer Anfang 2020 mit brennenden Barrikaden in Italien. Sind solche Fälle überhaupt versicherbar?
Ja, das stimmt, derzeit machen wir die Erfahrung, dass die Übergriffe auf Geld- und Werttransporter immer neue Dimensionen annehmen und zum Teil immer brutaler werden. Teilweise gleichen die Fälle dann schon mal Szenen aus einem Hollywoodfilm. Versicherbar sind Geld- und Werttransporte natürlich und werden es auch bleiben. Aus Versicherer-Sicht ist es natürlich interessant, dass es erst gar nicht zu einem Schaden kommt. Die Transporte und damit auch das Personal und die Ware müssen so gut geschützt sein, dass es für die Täter uninteressant wird. Deswegen konzentrieren wir uns beim Thema Schadenverhütung und Weiterentwicklung vor allem auf die entsprechende Sicherheitstechnik.

Mit welchen Risiken sehen sich die Sicherheitsunternehmen und Versicherer konfrontiert?
Ein großes Risiko ist natürlich nach wie vor der Raubüberfall. Diese finden oft aber nicht immer bewaffnet statt. In diesem Zusammenhang spielt auch das Risiko der Geiselnahme eine Rolle. Hier sind es genauso wie beim Schusswaffengebrauch vor allem psychologische Belastungen, denen die Fahrer ausgesetzt sind. Darüber hinaus sind es aber auch vielfältige Themen, die über diese „klassischen“ Risiken hinausgehen. Das Thema Stressbelastung und Übermüdung der Fahrer spielt zunehmend eine Rolle, auch Verkehrsunfälle oder Verletzungen durch falsches Heben oder einen umgeknickten Knöchel kommen häufiger vor als man denkt. Denn gerade Münzgeld ist schwer und verlangt dem Sicherheitspersonal körperlich einiges ab.

Stichwort Schadenverhütung. Das Vorgehen der Täter wirkt oft unberechenbar und vom Schusswaffengebrauch bis zum umgeknickten Knöchel ist eine ganz schöne Brandbreite. Welche Möglichkeiten zur Schadenverhütung oder Prävention gibt es?
Ganz vermeiden lassen werden sich die Überfälle nie. Denn das Geld ist da und weckt natürlich Begehrlichkeiten. In erster Linie geht es darum, bei einem Überfall Zeit zu gewinnen und es den Tätern schwer zu machen. Ein großer Knackpunkt ist zum Beispiel der Transport des Geldes vom Geschäft zum Transporter. Hier gab es in letzter Zeit vermehrt Überfälle mit Pfefferspray. In Konsequenz wird das Personal nun unter anderem mit speziellen Visieren ausgerüstet, die Ihnen helfen, den Angriff abzuwehren.

Im Kern geht es einfach darum, in Bewegung zu bleiben und sich gemeinsam proaktiv weiterzuentwickeln. Denn auch die Täter rüsten weiter auf. Hier setzen wir auf ein enges Zusammenspiel aus uns als Versicherer, speziellen Gutachtern und unseren Kunden. Jeder versuchte Überfall wird vor Ort ausgewertet und analysiert. Von verdeckten Observationen im Alltag auf Basis derer später das Personal geschult wird, über Geldkoffer mit GPS oder Einfärbe-Systemen bis hin zu speziellen Materialien für die Transporter wird alles weiterentwickelt.

Im Gegensatz zu anderen Ländern spielt in Deutschland aber auch der Täterschutz eine große Rolle. Bei manchen Kunden in Europa sind bereits spezielle Schaumsysteme im Einsatz, die bei einem Überfall den kompletten Innenraum und damit auch die Täter kniehoch mit blitzschnell aushärtendem Schaum ausschäumen. In Deutschland ist das noch nicht möglich. Es wird aber auch noch viel Bewegung in diesem Bereich erwartet.

Wie schätzen Sie aktuell den Markt im GWT-Bereich ein?
Wir sehen auch im Markt aktuell viel Bewegung. Es gibt Versicherer, die aus dem Geld- und Werttransport-Geschäft aussteigen, da Sie sich das Risiko nicht mehr zutrauen. Dadurch haben in wir jüngster Zeit auch einige neue Kunden bekommen. Grundsätzlich sind wir in dieser Nische mit über 20 Jahren gut etabliert und pflegen langjährige persönliche Kontakte. Die meisten unserer Kunden begleiten wir schon seit über 15 Jahren und schätzen auf beiden Seiten den regelmäßigen Austausch und die gemeinsame Entwicklung.

Vielen Dank für das Gespräch.

 

Über Sabine Rittmeyer
Sabine Rittmeyer ist seit fast 20 Jahren bei Delvag. Als Underwriterin bzw. Referent Geld- und Werttransport im Bereich Transportversicherung verantwortet Sie aktuell unter anderem die Bereich Jewellers‘ Block mit Fokus Hong Kong sowie Geld- und Werttransporte für insbesondere Deutschland und Italien und zum Teil auch weltweit. Mit umgeknickten Knöcheln hat Sabine trotz Ihrer Laufbegeisterung weniger zu tun. Denn dort läuft sie trittsicher Ihre Runden und engagiert sich auch in der Laufsparte des Lufthansa Sport Vereins. Während ihrer Freizeit taucht sie auch gerne ab und genießt beim Tauchsport die Unterwasserwelt.


Von Philipp Schmid
Unternehmenskommunikation Delvag
kommunikation@delvag.de